Pre-E3 2017 Spotlight: Sony

by Matthew Thompson

With E3 kicking off in less than a week, it is about time I run through my predictions and wishes like I usually do before the big event. I’m going to focus on Sony today, but I will have two more posts up later this week, one about Nintendo and another about Microsoft/third-parties. Well, let’s get to it!

As far as already announced games expected to be at E3, there is no game I’m more excited to see than God of War. It was my favorite game from last year’s E3 and represented a bold new vision for a series that I feel was ready for that sort of reinvention. I do wonder how the new camera will work for series’ staples like platforming and setpieces, so I’m hoping to get that answered at this year’s show. Spider-man and Days Gone are a couple more Sony games I’m looking forward to getting a better look at next week.

God of War PS4 1

The two upcoming Naughty Dog games, Uncharted: The Lost Legacy and The Last of Us Part II, are my most anticipated games on the horizon. But with Uncharted only a couple of months away, I’m going to try to stay away from much in the way of new footage (try being the key word). I will probably listen to some interviews though as one of my favorite parts of E3 is hearing developers talk about these games they clearly pour their hearts into. I’m not sure we will see TLOU2 at this year’s show. It was announced super early and feels like a long ways away. It might be better to let Days Gone get the spotlight this year given their similar settings. Who knows though, maybe The Last of Us Part II will make an appearance of some kind.

I’m expecting one of the big announcements at Sony’s Press Conference this year to be Sucker Punch’s new game. They are the one major Sony first-party studio that either doesn’t have an announced project or a recently released one. Their previous two games, Infamous: Second Son and First Light, both came out in 2014, so it seems like they’d be ready to show whatever they have been cooking up these past few years. All signs point to another open-world action title, but one in a new brand series. I think a teaser for a Horizon Zero Dawn DLC expansion of some kind is another strong possibility in regards to new announcements. I’d love a reason to return to one of 2017’s best games, so would certainly welcome that.

Jak 3

Of course, my biggest E3 wish is the same as it always is: a new Jak and Daxter game. It remains my all-time favorite series and I’d love to see another one. The way it combined open-world and linear level design, platforming and vehicular gameplay, shooting and melee combat was so damn cool. And I just miss Jak and his little ottsel buddy. The fact that they are re-releasing all the PS2 games on PS4 later this year gives me a tiny bit more hope for that wish coming true. The Ratchet & Clank PS4 game also did quite well, so perhaps that would make Sony more open to the idea of bringing back another one of their cartoony platforming series. I’d settle for another Sly Cooper game as well. With the Crash remakes and Knack 2 releasing this year, it might not be the time to announce another game of this ilk. On the other hand, those will both release this year and Sony loves to tease games that are over a year out. For the next week, I will at least enjoy dreaming of a new Jak game. That is part of the fun of the lead-up to E3 for me.

That will do it for some of my hopes and predictions for Sony at E3. Are there any particular announcements you are hoping to see from Sony this year? What about games you’d like to get a better look at? Feel free to let me know in the comments below. I’ll be back in the next couple days with what I’d like to see from Nintendo in what will be the Switch’s first E3 showing. As always, thanks for reading!

4 comments on “Pre-E3 2017 Spotlight: Sony

  1. As much as you want a new Jak & Daxter game I feel the same way about Spyro haha. I’m excited for some Spider-man and Detroit:Become Human footage. So amped for E3!

    • It would be cool if they did a remade trilogy for the Spyro PS1 games like they are doing for Crash. I imagine the success of the Crash one will lead to a new game and maybe they could do the same with Spyro.

Leave a Reply

