iZombie “Heaven Just Got a Little Bit Smoother” Review

by Matthew Thompson

After nearly a year since the second season finale, I found myself yearning for another taste of iZombie not unlike some of the zombies seen in that last outing starving for a meal of a different kind. The Season 3 premiere delivered more of what I’ve always loved about the series and I’m here with some quick impressions of the episode.

“Heaven Just Got a Little Bit Smoother” picks up a few minutes after the previous episode’s ending. We see Vivian Stoll and her private military company made up of zombies – named Fillmore Graves in classic iZombie fashion – covering up all the brain-eating madness that took place at the Max Rager party. From here a number of intriguing threads to be further explored in the season to come are introduced. Included are Don E’s defrosting of Blaine’s father and Ravi’s old boss at the CDC showing up along with continuing storylines like the search for a zombieism cure and the love triangle between Peyton, Blaine and Ravi.

iZombie Heaven Just Got a Little Bit Smoother 1

The biggest ongoing plot stems from the previously mentioned PMC group though. We learn more about them and their preparations for what to do when the human population at large finds out about the existence of zombies. We see their work on a zombie safe haven island. We see zombie children. It is all food for thought for our core group of characters – Liv, Major, Ravi, Peyton and Clive – who have disagreements on how people learning about zombies would play out. By the end of the hour a witness’ account of the Max Rager incident appearing on the radio, the murder of a zombie family that Clive knew and Major joining the PMC add further wrinkles to what should be a fascinating main through line to Season 3.

“Heaven Just Got a Little Bit Smoother” is a great way to kick off the new season of my favorite show still airing on television. It skillfully lays out some of the ongoing plots it will juggle alongside the cases – and brains – of the week that are sure to crop up in upcoming episodes in a way they didn’t in the premiere. And it did so with plenty of the dialogue that has always made Rob Thomas shows such a hit with me (I’ve posts some of my favorite lines in the bullets below). I loved being back with this delightful cast of characters and returning to what iZombie’s wonderfully unique premise brings to my television screen. I can’t wait to see what else this season has in store.

iZombie Heaven Just Got a Little Bit Smoother 3

A few more things:

  • Awesome to see Peyton/Aly Michalka added to the opening sequence!
  • The episode title comes from my favorite piece of dialogue of the week which builds off the great meta bit from last year’s finale. It doesn’t come from one of our quick-witted characters, but a radio broadcast airing in the background with the DJ stating: “The world is mourning the passing of Rob Thomas today and nobody’s got you covered like 98.7. This tweet just came in from Carlos Santana: “Heaven just got a little bit smoother #stoptheviolence” I laugh every time I think about it. It is just so good.
  • Another great dialogue sequence: Clive: “What if in the history of the zombie wars, I’m the human who had a chance to say something and I sat on my hands?” Ravi: “I mean, bright side. The writer of the history of the zombie wars will very likely be a zombie and you’ll be viewed as a hero.”
  • The posters in the Fillmore Graves hallway were fantastic too. “Don’t be that guy. Tan and Dye.”
  • I don’t do weekly reviews anymore, but I think I may chime in with various premieres (a lot of big ones this month) and then again for the finales to see what has transpired throughout the season.
7 comments on “iZombie “Heaven Just Got a Little Bit Smoother” Review

  1. Yeah. I missed this show. But this episode was just about the season finale and the season long storylines. I’m a bigger fan of the procedural and the monster of the week stuff. Also there was no cool cooking montage (unless i missed it). I’m hoping they get back to the brain of the week. My favorite home this week was the running gag about how our hero barely tries to hide the fact that she’s a zombie.

Leave a Reply

