The Triple Option Podcast Episode 1: The Witcher 3 and Most Anticipated Games

by Matthew Thompson

In the inaugural episode of The Triple Option Podcast, myself and Ashley Wilton from Gamebleed.com have an in-depth discussion about The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt and talk about our most anticipated games of 2017 before we get to know a little more about Ashley’s gaming tastes in the first edition of Five Questions. For more details continue reading beyond the break!

Direct Link to Episode 1’s page on Soundcloud (Hit the More button for the option to Download the Episode)

The Triple Option Podcast’s homepage on Soundcloud

About the Guest

Ashley Wilton is one of my favorite game writers on the internet. At Gamebleed, he writes reviews and features about games he is passionate about. It is his way with words that sets his beautifully written pieces apart. Particularly enjoyable are his Focus articles which hone in on specific moments and facets of games like this wonderful piece about Halo: Reach’s final moments. Be sure to bookmark his site to keep up with future content from him.

Musical Acknowledgments

Looking for some music to compliment this first episode, I found myself at the Free Music Archive where Lee Rosevere had some electronic sounds intended for podcast use. You can check out his page on the site here. The following are the two songs I used in Episode 1.

Episode Intro and Outro: Lee Rosevere “Let’s Start at the Beginning” from Music for Podcasts

Five Questions Intro Music: Lee Rosevere “Looking Back” from Music for Podcasts

Time Stamps

I realize some may want to jump around to different sections in the podcast. I also realize not everyone has finished The Witcher 3 or its DLC expansions and we definitely go into spoilers during that discussion. Below I have the outline of the episode including time stamps (HH:MM:SS) for each subject and whether there are spoilers:

Introduction – 0:00:00

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Discussion – 00:00:40

  • What attracted us to playing The Witcher 3? – 00:01:28
  • What was our character build like (combat-style, magic, armor, etc.)? – 00:04:40
  • What were our favorite quests and moments from the game? – 00:08:15 (MAJOR SPOILERS)
  • What was something we didn’t like about The Witcher 3? – 00:27:36 (Minor SPOILERS)
  • Which ending did we each get? – 00:33:13 (MAJOR SPOILERS)
  • Which DLC did we prefer: Hearts of Stone or Blood and Wine? – 00:41:39 (Minor SPOILERS)
  • What is next for CD Projekt Red? – 00:43:45 (MAJOR SPOILERS)

Our Most Anticipated Games of 2017 – 00:48:48

  • Uncharted: The Lost Legacy – 00:49:33
  • Wipeout Omega Collection – 00:53:45
  • The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – 00:57:05
  • Micro Machines: World Series – 00:59:23
  • Horizon Zero Dawn – 01:01:53
  • Red Dead Redemption 2 – 01:05:25
  • Super Mario Odyssey – 01:07:40
  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – 01:10:51
  • Spider-man – 01:15:20

Five Questions – 01:17:54

Conclusion – 01:26:22

I hope you all enjoy the podcast. I plan to have the first TV-focused episode up in March some time. I’d welcome any feedback on the episode whether it be about the discussions, intros or whatever else. This is my first time doing this, so I hope to improve it over time and your feedback will help. I’m currently looking into hosting options beyond Soundcloud including getting episodes up on iTunes for those that prefer that. I will keep you updated about that as I figure things out. Thanks to everyone who gives this a listen!

3 comments on “The Triple Option Podcast Episode 1: The Witcher 3 and Most Anticipated Games

  1. Good episode, although I’m afraid I only listened to the last ~30 minutes since I haven’t gotten around to Witcher 3 yet. I actually had no idea there was a Wipeout Collection coming out, very exciting.

    If I had any feedback to give, I would probably suggest consdiering putting the general discussion section upfront before the focused-discussion. It’ll make it easier for people looking to avoid spoilers, since they don’t have to skip to the end, they can just turn it off when the second segment starts. I think it will also help introduce the guest a little bit more.

    • Hey. Thanks a lot for listening. That has been the thing I’ve been hearing the most that I should tweak the order of the segments. You make a good point. The second segment has much wider appeal, so kicking off with that makes sense. I’m definitely looking to tweak future episodes based on feedback and really appreciate the input.

      If you think you’d ever want to try being a guest, let me know! I’m looking to get more WordPressers involved and I’m sure we could find something to talk about. Just figured I’d throw it out there!

Leave a Reply

