My Tanooki Mario Jack-O-Lantern

by Matthew Thompson

Hey everyone! I love Halloween and my favorite tradition in recent years has been pumpkin carving. About a decade ago, I moved on from simple faces and pre-made stencils to creating my own designs mostly based on video games. Today I am back with my newest Jack-O-Lantern inspired by gaming’s most famous mascot.

tanooki-mario

I based my carving off of the above art of Tanooki Mario. While this isn’t my first Jack-O-Lantern to come out of the Mushroom Kingdom (I did a Koopa Troopa one a few years back), it is my first Mario carving.

tanooki-mario-jack-o-lantern-backlit

Here is a look at the Jack-O-Lantern all lit up. I’m really happy with how it came out. Due to my use of Christmas lights to light it up, this shot ended up with an odd backlit look that I thought was pretty cool.

tanooki-cutout

Here is another shot of it in the light so you can see the carving itself. For years, I had only done full cutouts, but a couple of years back I experimented with shaving on my Fringe Jack-O-Lantern. This is the first time I have combined both techniques. It didn’t provide the challenge of some of my older full cutout ones, but it did allow for a really great design. The shaving allowed me to solve some problems and add details I may not have been able to otherwise.

tanooki-mario-jack-o-lantern

Here is one final close-up shot of my Tanooki Mario Jack-O-Lantern. I hope you guys like it. I have added links to all my old pumpkin carving posts below in case any newer readers would like to check them out. Thanks for reading and checking out the pictures. I hope you have a Happy Halloween!

Link and Tetra from The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker

Ratchet & Clank, Sly Cooper and Jak and Daxter

Rayman and Koopa Troopa

Fringe (TV Show)

4 comments on “My Tanooki Mario Jack-O-Lantern

Leave a Reply

