My Uncharted 4 Rope Kill Compilation

by Matthew Thompson

It was back during the Uncharted 4 multiplayer beta that I first became interested in recording some of my gameplay footage and sharing it online. On one of the forums where I was discussing the game, everyone was posting cool gifs and clips of their best moments and I decided to join in on the fun. I had never really messed with the video recording feature on my PS4 before that, but soon enough I was recording matches and special sequences that would arise in Uncharted 4’s multiplayer modes.

It was these same people’s clips that drove me to make the aerial rope kill a regular part of my repertoire. It is a risky move, but one that is immensely satisfying to pull off. Since Uncharted 4 released over a month ago I have been saving videos of some of my better rope kills in hopes that I could mash them together into a montage and this past week, I finally made that a reality.

The result is embedded above. This is my first time doing anything more than a quick trim of my videos. I used the PS4’s Sharefactory app for the first time to create this compilation. As a first attempt, it is rather simplistic. I tried my best to make the transitions from one clip to the next not be too jarring. I didn’t really like the wipe-style transitions so didn’t use them. I decided to forgo using music in favor of being able to hear all the characters little quips after kills. In going back through my footage, it became pretty clear that I was better at pulling this move off on certain maps than others though I still included at least one on six of the eight maps in this video. I had recorded some creative jump/rope kills in singleplayer too, but decided to just make this a multiplayer montage especially since some of my story mode clips had come from one of the climactic chapters. This keeps things spoiler-free for everyone. I realize this is pretty rudimentary compared to some of my other bloggers friends’ impressive video reviews and the like, but I figure I need to start somewhere.

Anyway, I hope some of you get a kick out of this. I plan to continue to experiment with making, editing and posting videos in future. Thanks to anyone who gives my video a look! I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

