My Pre-E3 2016 Post

by Matthew Thompson

E3 starts tomorrow and I figured I’d chime in with my typical share of hopes, predictions and outlandish wishes that I have prior to the big event. I’ve decided to break them into groups based on their likelyhood to show up, from the “will (and should) be there” to the “not likely, but I wish they would be there.” Let’s get to it!

Expected to be at E3

Horizon 7

Horizon: Zero Dawn: Guerrilla Games’ ambitious new IP kind of stole the show at last year’s E3. I was blown away by the art design of both the lead character and the world they have created. We already got a new trailer focused on the story this past week and a release date, but I’m looking forward to learning a little more about what kind of gameplay systems will be in store for us during our journey with Aloy through this stunning new game world.

The Legend of Zelda: Nintendo’s presence at E3 looks like it will be pretty minimal this year which, I’m not going to lie, brings my hype for gaming’s biggest showcase down a bit. They are promising our first major look at the next Zelda title though. As one of my all-time favorite series, I’m excited to see what is in store in this new outing in the legendary franchise especially with some supposed big changes in store like a true open-world setting and rumored additions such as voice-acting and the option to play as a female character.

Gravity Rush 2: I really enjoyed the first Gravity Rush on Vita and while recently replaying it on PS4. There are definitely some issues that need fixing (most notably the combat and targeting), but I have liked what I have seen of Gravity Rush 2 so far. More than anything I am hoping to get a release date for this. With Horizon delayed into 2017, I would love to play this in the Fall, but that might not be best for its success, so we shall see. I’m definitely ready to spend some more time with gaming’s happiest protagonist Kat. She cracks me up.

Gears of War 4: I’m not a huge Gears fan, but I enjoyed the trilogy. I was also really happy to hear they’d be including local co-op (not a foregone conclusion by any means these days) in the upcoming installment and it may help fill the void left by a certain other Microsoft franchise. A proper look at Gears 4 this E3 might be just the thing to get me properly excited for this next entry in series.

ReCore: This looks like a really different kind of IP than many of Microsoft’s exclusives with its stylized graphics and supposed action/adventure style of play. The first glimpse we got a year ago looked very appealing to me. It just seems like my kind of game, but I need to see some actual gameplay to know for sure. I wasn’t sure if this would show or not since things have gone dark in regard to this game for a while, but it is scheduled to appear on the Youtube Live at E3 show after the MS Presser and one would assume that means it will appear at the conference itself. I’m looking forward to seeing it again.

Likely to be at E3

God of War 3 Featured

God of War 4: I think this will show up at Sony’s conference, I just don’t know in what fashion. Maybe just a teaser, but given the supposed change in mythology that could still be enough to get me excited. Of course, I’d love to see more than that. A reveal similar to Horizon’s last year would be awesome. Of the announcements that seem in the realm of possibility (i.e. not the ones in the bottom section of this post), I think God of War 4 is the one I’m most hoping to see. I really fell for this series when I played it a couple of years ago and I am ready for more. A new mythology is a great way to freshen it up even if the rumored Norse wouldn’t have been my first choice.

Sony Bend’s New Game: It has been years since we have heard from Sony Bend. They were my favorite developer on Sony’s handheld systems making great games like Syphon Filter: Logan’s Shadow and Uncharted: Golden Abyss among others. Their next title is supposedly a post-apocalyptic, open-world game featuring motorcycles and zombies called Dead Don’t Ride. I’m not sure what I think of that alleged concept, but this is a talented studio and I’m looking forward to seeing what they have been up to. The fact that it will be the first time they’ve worked on their own series or a home console in a long time definitely adds to the excitement. Given how long it has been since their last game released, it seems reasonable to think their next one will make an appearance at E3 this year.

Suicide Squad: This game has been in the works for a while, seemingly by WB Montreal. With the movie coming out soon, it seems about time we got our first glimpse at the game. I have enjoyed all of the recent Batman games to varying degrees. Those along with TV series like Arrow and The Flash have increased my interest and knowledge of various DC properties and characters. So, I’d be curious to see how they might tackle a Suicide Squad game presumably with an adapted version of the formula used in the Arkham series.

Less Likely Wishes

Jak 3

A Good Cartoony Platformer Sequel: I originally had four different cartoony platformers somewhere on this spectrum, so I am just going to lump them all together here. I love these kinds of games and I miss them given how rare they have become. Not an E3 will go by that I don’t mention how much I want a new Jak and Daxter game to be announced, so… I really wish they’d announce a new Jak and Daxter game. Still my favorite series. I’d go nuts. But that isn’t happening. I’d gladly take a new Sly Cooper or Rayman game. They don’t seem likely either, but certainly possible. One that is looking fairly probable is a new Crash Bandicoot game. There have been a lot of hints. Something is going on. I think it would probably need to be updated a bit in the level design department in a post-Mario Galaxy world, but I’d be excited to see a new Crash game. That game’s seeming existence means this wish might belong in the section above, but I don’t want to get my hopes up too much. And no, Knack 2 would not check this off the wishlist as it is not particularly good or much of a platformer.

Rise of the Tomb Raider Croft Manor DLC: This video was found after the PC version of Rise released and Crystal Dynamics admitted they were exploring the idea of making some Croft Manor-based downloadable content for the title. I am hoping we might see this come to fruition at E3. I loved the extra Manor levels in Legend and Anniversary (especially the latter). With the original game’s 20th anniversary this year, the return of a series staple like Croft Manor would be a good way to celebrate!

A New Prince of Persia: The sort of “realistic” platformer subgenre (or whatever you want to call things like PoP and older TR games) may have it even rougher these days than cartoony platformers. It was never as a big a group and now it is practically extinct. Even though I liked Rise a lot, it isn’t much of a platformer and the Prince has been MIA for years now. I’d love to see a new Prince of Persia whether that be a new game in the vein of the Sands of Time trilogy (still the high point for this style of platforming), a sequel to the 2008 game or a new start for the acrobatic royalty. Just don’t bring it back as an Assassin’s Creed clone in the typical Ubi open-world. That isn’t what anyone wants.

Anything Unexpected from Nintendo: As I understand it, Nintendo will just be showing off the new Zelda plus some other previously announced games. But if they wanted to give us Wii U owners some kind of surprise for this Fall, I’d be okay with that. Throw us a bone Nintendo.

That will do it for my annual Pre-E3 post. Anything you are hoping to see at E3 next week? Let me know in the comments below. I’ll be back sometime after the show with some reactions. Thanks for reading!

3 comments on “My Pre-E3 2016 Post

  1. Horizon Zero Dawn looks amazing. Even though there was a beta for Gears 4 there is a lot of information being held back so far and I’m looking forward to find out what’s new and exciting from E3.

  2. Pingback: The Games of Fall 2016 | The Triple Option

Leave a Reply

