My Half Year in TV and a Look Forward to the Rest of 2015

by Matthew Thompson

Just like I did a week ago for games, I am going to take a look at a couple of my favorite TV shows from the first half of the year as well as talk about what there is to look forward to on television throughout the rest of 2015.

My Favorite TV Shows of 2015 So Far

Unlike games, there has been no shortage of excellent television in 2015. Admittedly some of my favorites have disappointed, but other series have improved which along with a number of great new shows have helped fill the void. Once again, I’m going to hit on a couple that I’ve enjoyed the most, but picking just two here is much tougher.

Black Sails 2 2015

Black Sails: In Season 2, Black Sails became the pirate show I wanted it to be from the start. It has all the on seas action and treasure hunting adventure you’d covet from a series like this. It has complex characters involved in a complicated narrative full of treachery and shifting alliances. It has plenty of twists to keep you on your toes (one of which I remain particularly astounded by). It has an explosive finale that will leave you wanting more. Not only is it probably the best show I’ve watched so far in 2015, but I think it is perhaps the most improved show from last year which means I’d advise anyone who quit early on to give it another go. It is so worth it.

iZombie Pilot 3

iZombie: Sometimes a show is just your kind of show and that is the case with me and iZombie. The unique premise makes for a fresh take on the procedural. It has the crackling, witty dialogue I love so much. Rose McIver is just perfect in the lead role and she has a great supporting cast to back her up. Ravi is such a good pal, Blaine makes for a wonderful antagonist, and even Major who I was iffy on during the first couple episodes ended up being a strength for the show. And the fact that iZombie can be so funny and yet take some of the dark turns it does, the way it juggles fun weekly cases with an engrossing mythology… man it is just right up my alley. There may be better shows on TV than this one, but I don’t think I have enjoyed watching anything more than iZombie this year.

TV Shows to Come in 2015

Obviously with TV you get a lot of network shows coming back for more in the Fall, so I get more of stuff I’ve loved so far like iZombie and Jane the Virgin. And hopefully some shows that disappointed in the Spring (I’m looking at you The Good Wife!) will bounce back. But I want to focus more on shows that will be popping up for the first time in 2015.

Rectify Season 3

I was most excited for the return of Rectify which started up this past Thursday (I was hoping to get this post up sooner!) and I was able to watch the second episode OnDemand as well. So far, it has been more of the beautiful and affecting drama I have grown to love over the past two years.  Three more shows from my 2014 top ten have yet to air an episode this year and I eagerly await their premieres. Rick and Morty’s second season is right around the corner and I look forward to more from TV’s most imaginative series. The other two come in September. One is the vastly underrated You’re the Worst: a brilliant, modern take on the romantic comedy with some seriously biting humor. It along with Rectify are the two shows I wish more people were watching, but whereas Rectify is a bit of an acquired taste, I think most people (or those with a sense of humor at least) would enjoy You’re the Worst. Fargo is also set to return this Fall for a second season. The cast and premise for this new season sound great and I hope it can have a more successful sophomore outing than fellow 2014 anthology heavyweight True Detective is currently having. I also have my eye on Continuum which will air its final season this year. It seems to have its work cut out for it wrapping things up in six episodes, but I look forward to seeing how it finishes.

Quality new shows are a bit harder to pin down. There are a few extensions of existing properties I will be giving a look like Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp (I recall the movie being pretty funny, but will need to give it a rewatch before this hits), Fear the Walking Dead (the last season and a half of TWD has been very good and my girl Lexa from The 100 is in this which is a plus), and The Muppets (this just looks pretty damn funny). Narcos seems like it will be worth a shot as Netflix originals have treated me fairly well and I’m glad to see Pedro Pascal on TV again after his excellent work on Game of Thrones last year. I already talked about next season’s network offerings during Upfronts, but very little of that has me jazzed. Along with The Muppets, I think I’m most excited for Scream Queens and The Grinder, but as with any new show it is really hard to know how they will turn out based on a trailer. I hope some other shows emerge as promising additions to my TV lineup as the year continues.

Well that will do it for this post. Feel free to let me know what your favorite shows have been so far this year or if there is anything else worth a look on the horizon in the comments below. Thanks for reading!

8 comments on “My Half Year in TV and a Look Forward to the Rest of 2015

  1. iZombie had a great first season. I don’t normally care for procedural type shows but I liked how many case of the weeks were connected to the main story or provided good character moments for Liv. I’m looking forward to the final season of Continuum, I think it’s an underrated show. Cool post!

    • Yeah they did a great job with really connecting the cases and main story in iZombie as the season went on. Hopefully Continuum wraps things up well. It really has been a fun show so far. Thanks for commenting!

  2. I’m enjoying True Detective Season Two… maybe I’m the only one. Also looking forward to Wet Hot American Summer… maybe a little too much. Black Sails and iZombie are both amazing. I watched the leaked Supergirl pilot and I can see, if they improve off the pilot, I can see it being a fun show. I’m more nervous about Fear The Walking Dead. More apprehensive really. Spin-offs can be good, they can be bad. Or they can be so bad that they ruin the original show especially if the show is still airing. And I didn’t know Continuum’s final season would only be six episodes. That kind of bums me out. Love that show. Good half-year wrap. I have a pretty TV heavy What’s Good? going up this afternoon. I give my thoughts on The 100. I finally finished season two. I liked it. I love the main girl. I loved it when her mom and that other official are complaining about the grounders having a “child” in charge and they’re like yeah well so do we. My girl is totally in charge. Very cool show. Thanks for recommending it.

    • Yeah I haven’t seen Supergirl yet. That is good to hear it is promising. I could certainly see being apprehensive about Fear TWD. I’m not exactly excited about it, but I know I’ll be watching. I’m not sure I like where they are positioning it in the storyline. I have had good luck with spinoffs lately though (The Flash, The Originals, Better Call Saul have all been good so far), so hopefully they can do a good job with this one.

      Yeah, Clarke is pretty awesome and I liked seeing how the writers put her in these situations with moral dilemmas and no easy way out. It is very interesting. I am glad you ended up enjoying it. It starts out rough, so it takes a little patience to get to the good stuff, but its worth it. Thanks for commenting Mel.

  3. Continuum definitely turned it up a notch last season, and I’m glad it’s getting a few more episodes to wrap things up. I’m especially excited for You’re the Worst, as well as David Simon’s new miniseries “Show Me A Hero” (featuring Oscar Isaac!).

Leave a Reply

