The 100 “Blood Must Have Blood, Part 1” Review

by Matthew Thompson

After weeks of marching towards the inevitable showdown between the recently aligned Grounders and Sky People and those in Mount Weather, we have finally arrived at the start of the confrontation. With the first episode of the two-part finale in the books, I am happy to say that so far it has delivered.

The 100 Blood Must Have Blood Part 1 4

Finales should be the culmination of a season, so I love when they feel big. And right from the start this one has that feeling. It begins as Clarke lays out the final plan of attack on Mount Weather. It almost feels like this grand heist where the prize are those held captive inside. It is a massive four-part operation. Bellamy will work to free the Grounders on the inside. Raven and Wick will shut off the power in the dam. Clarke, Lexa and their combined army will be at the front door for what is one part assault and one part distraction. Octavia and Indra will be in the mines looking to shuffle out the captured.

As you’d expect from such an intricate plan, things go wrong (Raven loses one of her explosives, the detonator won’t work at the door, etc.). And just like in that classic heist sequence, there is a save at the last moment (like Lincoln’s fiery arrow shot to blow open the door). So finally they’ve jumped all the hurdles and the plan has come together. As they open the front door, the rug is pulled out from under them and us as viewers. Lexa has made a deal with the enemy. Mount Weather will release her people and she will command the Grounder forces to leave.

Now this isn’t completely out of left field. The alliance between the Grounders and the Sky people has been shaky to say the least. I knew this was a temporary deal just (and so did Jaha, I’m sure he can’t wait to paddle back and say I told you so). Still I wasn’t expecting things to fall apart before they took care of the Mountain Men. Lexa was the one looking for revenge while Clarke emphasized how this was a rescue mission. I honestly expected tension to arise between the two factions over how they handled this battle in that respect with the alliance blowing up some time afterwards. Throw in Lexa’s feelings for Clarke and the writers did a good job of guiding my expectations to another place than where we ended up this week. This acts as a nice twist, one that turns this rescue mission on its head one last time before the season ends. It is a move I respect, one that keeps me on my toes and leaves me wondering what will happen next.

The 100 Blood Must Have Blood Part 1 2

Many more things:

  • I have professed my love for Lexa (as a character of course) on here for weeks now, so while I think her move made for entertaining television, I was pretty bummed that Lexa would do this to me… erm I mean Clarke and company. I also really wanted to see those Grounders let loose inside Mount Weather!
  • I love Dante telling his son what a fuck-up he was in their first scene together this episode. And of course Dante was the one who came up with a plan to save their people because again, Cage is a fuck-up.
  • The scene where Clarke and Lexa lay out their plan as it flashes to the different groups was one of my favorites this episode and that was partially due to that science-project looking diorama they were using to help explain things. All it  needed was a foamy volcanic eruption. I loved it!
  • One of the reasons I like the Grounders so much is because they lend some old-school sensibilities to The 100‘s futuristic setting. Case in point: they make a Vikings/Spartan-style shield wall out of their junk metal shields. It was rad even if it didn’t work all that well.
  • I thought it was weak that one of the Ark people didn’t stay with Octavia at least. Like maybe they genuinely thought the horns meant everyone was free or perhaps Octavia having jumped to the Grounder side meant they didn’t care to hang around, but it seemed like kind of a punk move to leave her there. Oh sure give her some supplies. Thanks dude.

The end leaves us with Clarke staring at Mount Weather. Raven (and Wick I guess if anyone cares about him yet) are both likely inside now with the others. It is clear Clarke plans to find some way to save everyone and I can’t wait to find out how she’s going to do it. I’m hoping we get a taste of the City of Light next week too. The first part of “Blood Must Have Blood” was a winner and I’ll be back next week with a review of Part 2. What did you think of the episode? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

