My Most Anticipated Games of 2015: Part 1

by Matthew Thompson

2015 looks to be a banner year for gaming. All the newest consoles have over a year under their belt now and seem poised to deliver the kind of titles we hope for when we plop down money for a new system. It was honestly hard to narrow it down to just ten and there are undoubtedly a number of promising titles we don’t even know about yet that are set to release this year. Well let’s get to it. Here are numbers ten through six on my most anticipated games of 2015 countdown!

10. Yoshi’s Woolly World (Wii U)

Yoshi's Wooly World

Though I enjoyed it, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Kirby’s Epic Yarn. But boy was it lovely to look at. The same can be said for the upcoming Yoshi’s Woolly World. While its artstyle will surely be compared to LittleBigPlanet, I think Woolly World‘s visual consistency gives it a different feel and maybe a more appealing artstyle overall. The cute and clever little animations definitely remind me of that 2010 Kirby title in the best ways, but I’m happy this new outing for Yoshi seems to be sticking  more closely to the core gameplay I expect from Mario’s dinosaur buddy. The Kirby series is known for gameplay experimentation, but I think for Yoshi it might be better to stick with what works.

9. Ori and the Blind Forest (Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC)

Ori and the Blind Forest

Ori looks like a lot of 2D indie platformers. It has the emotional story and the striking artstyle that seem to go hand in hand with this little subgenre. But it also looks to satisfy on the gameplay side of things. You can see the Metroid influences in world structure and ability system, but I am impressed by the level of precision the platforming seems to require, not usually a hallmark of these sort of 2D adventure games. Bonus points for the little parachute glider thing I saw pop up in the trailer. I’m a sucker for them (See: Sly’s Paraglider and Wind Waker’s Deku Leaf).

8. Quantum Break (Xbox One)

Quantum Break

Remedy is a quality developer. I’m a big fan of their storytelling especially in Alan Wake and I trust they’ll tell an interesting tale again in Quantum Break. The gameplay demo didn’t exactly blow me away. It doesn’t look to be reinventing the wheel, merely doling out some solid third-person shooting with a nice hook in the form of the various time-manipulation tricks. But it certainly looks fun enough for me to be able to enjoy the narrative and presentation side of things as opposed to something like The Order: 1886 which seems to leans a little too hard on its cinematic side without the requisite gameplay to back it up.

7. Splatoon (Wii U)

Splatoon

Splatoon looks like a really fresh take on the third-person shooter and I love to see Nintendo taking a stab at a genre that is a bit out of their wheelhouse. While I’m not big on multiplayer-focused shooters, the colorful graphics, unique mechanics, and traversal aspects of this game all seem right up my alley. The fact they’ll be including a single-player mode is definitely a plus. I’ve been asking Nintendo to put out some new IPs for years now and this is exactly what I had in mind. Splatoon is something that feels very different coming from Nintendo and yet still retains the focus on gameplay and fun that has made me such a big fan of their output over the years.

6. Ratchet & Clank Redux (PS4)

Ratchet & Clank Redux

I love Ratchet & Clank. It is one of my all-time favorite game series. If this was a new game, it’d certainly be higher on this list. A reimagining as they are calling it isn’t quite as exciting to me. My biggest worry is that this following the movie’s plot means a reboot for the whole story in the game series assuming the film is a success and spawns a franchise. I’d hate for them to throw away Ratchet’s previous history and story, one I’ve been following for over a decade now. This fear may be misguided though. We will have to wait and see. Playing with all Ratchet’s wacky weapons and seeing the Lombax and his robot pal on the PS4 for the first time is still something I’m very excited for.

That will do it for this post. I hope to have Part 2 featuring my top five most anticipated games posted within the next two days. Thanks for reading!

Click here to check out Part 2!

7 comments on “My Most Anticipated Games of 2015: Part 1

  1. I really have to say Splatoon looks like it could be interesting. I’m sure Wolly World will be Yoshi awesome, but I just can’t get into the art style. Heck I couldn’t get into the art style with the first Yoshi’s island and it took me 20 years to play it.

  2. Pingback: My First Quarter of 2015 in Gaming Plus a Look Forward | The Triple Option

Leave a Reply

