The Best of the Rest in 2014

by Matthew Thompson

I’ve talked a ton about games and TV over the past couple of weeks, so I thought I’d take a quick look at some of my other favorites from 2014 in areas like music, books and so on. Here it goes!

My Favorite Album of 2014

Banks Goddess

Early on during 2014, I discovered Banks. I have Spotify to thank who smartly suggested her as an artist I’d like based on my listening habits and they could not have been more right. After listening to her singles and EP for months, I finally got to hear her album Goddess when it released and it really delivered. An easy pick for my album of year.

Banks Show 1

On top of this, my friend (thanks Omar!) got me tickets to go see her in Philadelphia for my Birthday and she was amazing! The picture I posted just above is one I snapped at the show.

 

Banks was far from the only thing I enjoyed in music this past year, so I threw together a little Spotify mix like I did a year ago and embedded it above. It also includes a couple of songs from Chvrches who delivered my favorite album back in 2013. I was lucky enough to see them live this year as well. It was at a free concert in Philly which was every bit the mess you might expect, but they were very good and thankfully played before the crowd got too annoying for my taste. Hopefully a few of you will dig the playlist!

My Favorite Book I Read in 2014

The Many Deaths of The Black Company

I’ve been dabbling a bit with creative writing and have been reading a lot of fantasy stuff for inspiration. My favorite novel I finished in 2014 (I don’t think I finished any new releases) was Soldiers Live, the final book in Glen Cook’s Black Company series (I read it via the compilation pictured above). While there are a couple more planned in the series that may or may not come to fruition, Soldiers Live wraps up Croaker’s tale extremely well. He was the main through line for the series so far and Cook did right by him with a surprising yet satisfying conclusion to his long career with the titular mercenary group.

My Favorite Movie of 2014

The LEGO Movie

For whatever reason, I’m just not a big movie watcher. I’ve only watched a handful of new releases from 2014. I did happen to be really taken with a couple though. Veronica Mars I talked about before, but I also loved The LEGO Movie. I’ve been a lifelong LEGO builder and this really captured the spirit of that particular hobby of mine. Clever, creative and beautifully animated, it is definitely a must-see movie.

My Favorite Sports Moment of 2014

Florida State National Championship

2015 didn’t start so well for my Seminoles, but 2014 sure did. The National Championship game against Auburn was amazing to watch. Partly because it was such a competitive game and partly because the outcome was so pleasing (for me anyway!). I didn’t enter the 2013 season expecting Florida State to compete for a National Championship which made our run for the title that much more satisfying. The same can be said for being the ones to end the SEC’s reign of terror over the rest of college football. Florida State winning the National Championship again was one of the very best sports moments of my life and one I will never forget.

And that finally wraps up my look back at 2014. This week I will look forward to what is in store for us this year in games and TV. Then I will be back to my more typical posts and blogs going forward. Thanks for reading!

One comment on “The Best of the Rest in 2014

  1. This is actually the first year I’ve enjoyed movies more than TV and The Lego Movie was my favorite also. Quite the feat with how good X-Men, Captain America, and Guardians of the Galaxy were. Marvel movies might actually be up your alley, once you hit Iron Man 2, all the continuity would make it easy to pretend they’re just a super high budget show.

Leave a Reply

