The Games of E3: Sunset Overdrive

by Matthew Thompson (Images-Insomniac Games, this game’s site can be found here)

(I was trying to work out how to discuss E3 this year (Note: I was not there, just watched it from home) and I’ve settled on rolling out about 10-15 small blogs over the next two weeks. Each will focus on a game shown or announced at E3 that caught my eye and will be presented in alphabetical order. I will include some other impressions when appropriate as well. You can find all of these blogs archived here. Enjoy!)

Sunset Overdrive 1

Every time I see Sunset Overdrive, I love it even more. It is exactly the kind of new IP I wanted to see from Insomniac and it really seems to play to their strengths. Its vibrant colors and wacky weapons remind me of my favorite series of theirs, Ratchet & Clank. But it is not simply a copy of that game. Sunset Overdrive brings with it a very different style and the open-world and traversal should help it stand on its own. I’ve always loved the idea of a game closely marrying its platforming and combat components. Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones did this by incorporating platforming into a stealth kill system that helped you bypass lengthy melee encounters. The Uncharted series had shootouts breakout while climbing and allowed you to use the verticality of the level designs to get the angle on enemies. But Sunset Overdrive seems to really take this to another level. You are constantly moving as you grind on rails, bounce off canopies, and slide down ziplines all the while taking on hordes of enemies throughout the city. And the newly announced 8-player co-op mode sounds like a blast too. Above all, Sunset Overdrive just looks like a ton of fun. I’m not sure when I will get an Xbox One, but I am so excited to play this game once I do.

Sunset Overdrive 2

A few more things:

  • This is the highlight of the Xbox One’s current exclusive line-up, but I thought MS had a great showing at E3. The Master Chief Collection looks to pack so much content. New exclusive announcements like Scalebound and Crackdown were welcome. And they had a good mix of attractive third-party games to show off as well. And I loved the pacing. They said it would be wall-to-wall games and it really was. I have a couple more games from their showing I will talk about at the end of my Games of E3 series, but their whole conference was really good.
  • On that note, I have sort of run out of gas on these blogs. So I will do one more post focusing on a single game and then throw the other handful of games I didn’t get to into one more blog. Nothing against those games, I just don’t think I have six more of these in me and I want to get back to some other gaming topics and away from these daily posts. So those will be up in the next few days! Then I will get back to talking about stuff I’m actually playing.
6 comments on “The Games of E3: Sunset Overdrive

  1. Argh I want this game, but I don’t really want to jump on an Xbone any time soon. I’d love for it to come out on PC but given Insomniac’s history as a console dev it seems unlikely. I guess there’s always the chance of a multiplatform sequel though

    • Yeah if Fuse didn’t get a PC release, I doubt this would. Unlike Ratchet and Resistance they do own this IP. So I think it is possible the first comes to PS4, but I’m not sure it will. I was trying to look into precedent for this sort of thing, but I think it is a lot different than something like Mass Effect or Ninja Gaiden 2. I couldn’t find an analogous example. So I don’t know what to expect. Kind of hoping I might somehow get to play it before I get an Xbone. I imagine I’ll get one eventually, but not anytime soon.

      • I actually think it could very well end up like Mass Effect. There the original was only exclusive for five years when the contract expired and since EA owned the IP when they bought Bioware, they were allowed to publish 2 and 3 on PS3. I think we’ll see a similar situation here with the sequels, though I’m not sure if 1 will appear.
        I’m hoping this will be Insomniac’s introduction to PC gaming as well. Seeing as it is MS, I could potentially see this getting ported. Maybe with the involvement of a 3rd party and a lot later like other console to PC ports get. At least, I hope it does.

        • Yeah I’m not saying it won’t end up like Mass Effect. Maybe it will. And I hope so for selfish reasons. Just that the situations/reasons likely won’t be the same.

          Insomniac seems to really love being independent. They have seemingly turned down being acquired before. They went with MS for this game so they could control the IP rights (supposedly). So I don’t see any publisher acquiring them because of that like what happened with Bioware. So I really just don’t think the situations are similar. So I can’t say, “Well I expect Insomniac to go the way of Bioware and we can expect a similar result.” Of course I could be totally wrong about that too!

          You make a good point about the PC thing. Maybe a third-party steps in. I really have no clue about any of this. That is why I was trying to find a similar precedent.

Leave a Reply

