The Games of E3: Downloadable Content

by Matthew Thompson

(I was trying to work out how to discuss E3 this year (Note: I’m not there, just watching from home) and I’ve settled on rolling out about 10-15 small blogs over the next two weeks. Each will focus on a game shown or announced at E3 that caught my eye and will be presented in alphabetical order. I will include some other impressions when appropriate as well. You can find all of these blogs archived here. Enjoy!)

E3 DLC

One of the biggest reasons I was excited for E3 this year was to see the future of the PlayStation 4. I got one at launch more for its potential and my love of PlayStation than because I really needed one right away. I have certainly enjoyed the time I have spent with it, but I wish I had reason to use it more often than I have. There are plenty of big AAA games coming for it that I will talk about over the next couple weeks, but I also found myself intrigued by two pieces of DLC for a couple of my favorite games on the young system so far.

Resogun Heroes

The first bit of DLC is for my favorite PS4 game to date, Resogun. It’s new content was announced before E3 even began and detailed more throughout this past week. The Heroes DLC contains two new modes. Survival is what you’d think, an endless mode that sees how long you can last, but tweaks to scoring and enemies as well as a new day/night cycle should help liven things up. Demolition adds an old-school brick-breaker twist to the Resogun formula which will be accented by new power-ups like being able to unleash multiple balls at once. It looks to be a fairly big departure from the base game which should help add a bit of variety to this addictive shooter.

Along with these, Resogun will be receiving a new patch that delivers a local co-op mode and ship editor adding some fun new features to one of last year’s best games. This will all be coming later this month and I can’t wait to dive back into the game and re-spark the rivalry with my friends via the game’s leaderboards.

Infamous First Light 1

The first DLC for Infamous: Second Son will also be coming this summer in August. Titled Infamous: First Light, it will tell the origin story of Abigail “Fetch” Walker, someone who players of the main game should be familiar with. She was by far my favorite conduit that Delsin meets in Second Son and she also has my favorite set of powers. It might have been a bit cooler if we’d have gotten a whole new power set to play with in the DLC, but Nate Fox of Sucker Punch inferred in an interview I watched that Fetch’s form of Neon would feel quite different from Delsin’s. A new version of my favorite powers feels like a decent compromise. None of the side characters really got much screen time in the full game, so I think there is plenty to learn from a Fetch-focused chapter in the series.

The trailer also showed some new environments that should be fun to explore, namely Curden Cay, the much-talked about Conduit prison. It is situated in a snowy, mountain area that should make for a nice change of pace assuming we get to play around there.

Much like Festival of Blood on the PS3, First Light will be available as a standalone product. Apparently having the original game will give you some extra perks, but I love these kind of separate pieces of DLC that don’t require the disc. It could act as a nice introduction to players who might want to try the game at a lower price. In First Light‘s case, that will be $14.99.

Both of these pieces of downloadable content should help keep me busy on my PS4 between bigger releases and I look forward to diving back into the addictive shooting action of Resogun as well as the fun, fluid combat of Infamous later this summer.

2 comments on “The Games of E3: Downloadable Content

Leave a Reply

