Six Games I Need to See More of at E3

by Matthew Thompson

With E3 fast approaching, I thought I’d take a blog or two to talk about what I’m looking forward to seeing at gaming’s big show. Today I will be talking about six already announced games I want to see more of when E3 rolls around in a bit over a week from now. Here they are:

Uncharted PS4

Uncharted (PS4): I love Naughty Dog, so I am dying to see what their first (original) PS4 project has in store for us. I also love Uncharted, so I’m dying to know what Nate and company will be getting into next. But there is also some questions swirling around it with the recent departures of the game’s original two directors, so I’m very curious what kind of shape the title is in. All signs point to us getting our first real look at the game during Sony’s Press Conference and I can’t wait to see it.

Mirrors Edge

Mirror’s Edge: The original Mirror’s Edge is my favorite platformer of last-gen. Its first-person perspective made for an innovative twist on the genre and the level of challenge it delivered was a breath of fresh air among its increasingly automated peers. So obviously I want another Mirror’s Edge. But even before it was announced, I was curious if a sequel would go in the right direction. With the original’s sales being so low, I wondered if the series would go away from what made the original special in search of a larger audience. And some of the info we have heard so far, like its move to an open-world structure, make me a little nervous. But I am hoping for the best and seeing more on it at E3 would be just the thing to help alleviate any lingering doubts I may have.

Far Cry 4

Far Cry 4: Far Cry 2 was a little rough around the edges, but I liked the change of pace that its sandbox environment gave me from the genre’s more typically linear outings. Then Far Cry 3 and its wacky spinoff Blood Dragon really took the series to the next level. And now it is one of my very favorite FPS series on the market. I don’t expect Far Cry 4 to reinvent the wheel, but I do want to see what it has in store. The setting looks like it will deliver something I have wanted from the series since its move into vast open-worlds: snow. So that is another plus. With this game set for a release this Fall, I expect we will see plenty of it at E3.

Gravity Rush 2

Gravity Rush 2: I was pretty upset a year ago when the Vita was largely ignored at E3, but with sales so dire for the system, I can’t say I blame Sony for the decision. Gamers didn’t buy in, third-parties never jumped on board, and a couple of Sony studios even shut their doors after their Vita launch titles (probably not the only reason for the closures, but it likely didn’t help). It is such a fantastic piece of hardware though and I savor any chance I get to do some gaming on it. And a sequel to one of Vita’s top titles, Gravity Rush, sounds like a great way to spend some time with Sony’s latest handheld. The original was far from perfect, but the joy of “falling” around the world and charming lead character Kat made for a fun time. I’m looking forward to seeing how they improve on the original in this sequel. No clue if this will be at E3, but I hope it turns up in some capacity.

Quantum Break

The Order 1886 and Quantum Break: This was originally a nice list of five, but at the last second I decided to throw in Quantum Break (pictured above) with The Order as a sort of combo pick. The other four games on this list are ones I’m super excited about and therefore want to see more of. Sure I have some concerns with them, but nothing too big. But with The Order and Quantum Break, I’m not really excited for either, but I’d like to be. I am a fan of both Ready at Dawn and Remedy, but I am not digging the direction either of these new games from them seem to be going. The Order‘s recent showings this week sort of just reinforced those feelings. So if E3 could give me a reason to get on the hype train for either of these, I’d love that.

That will do it for now. I hope to have some kind of wishes and predictions for E3 blog sometime before the show rolls around. Thanks for reading!

6 comments on “Six Games I Need to See More of at E3

  1. Nice. Pretty much my exact E3 wishlist, maybe with an exception of the Quantum Break which I would’ve switched with Beyond Good & Evil 2 since for me it’s been atop the list of hopes for each show in the recent years anyway. Besides, an instant like from me just for featuring the Gravity Rush. This franchise needs to thrive, the world’s simply a far better place with it around.

    • BG&E2 is a great one. I would love to see that again. I can’t believe it has been six years since the first teaser for it! Hopefully this is the year we see Jade again. Thanks for checking out the blog and commenting!

  2. Mirror’s Edge 2 is the only one I really want to see more on. The rest I’m either not that interested in or I already know what I’m getting into. My list would be ME2, Mass Effect 4, Star Wars Battlefront 3, the next Zelda, and Sunset Overdrive.

    • I decided to divide my Pre-E3 blogs into a sort of unannounced vs. announced lists and had no idea what to do with Zelda Wii U, so put it into the next one. I hope we see a full blown reveal of that. I’m sold on Sunset Overdrive at this point, but I will enjoy seeing some more on that one too. I totally missed the Battlefront boat back in the day. I’d like to see how that ends up looking though. Hopefully it is good for fans. Same with ME4.

  3. I need to go back and play Gravity Rush again. I beat it, but it was over the course of a long period of time and the story was a little lost by doing that. So I’d agree I’d love to see more Gravity Rush 2, and definitely Uncharted 4.

Leave a Reply

