A Blog Update

by Matthew Thompson

Hey everyone. Things have been a little scattershot on here the past couple of weeks, so I just wanted to throw out an update on what has been happening and what is to come.

  • I still plan to do Game of Thrones reviews weekly, but getting them up every Monday can be a bit much some weeks. I always like to “sleep” on the episode so to speak before writing it, but some Mondays aren’t conducive to me finishing them and I don’t like putting them up late at night. This week’s will probably be up tomorrow.
  • I decided to push my latest TV Power Rankings back a week. But I may do them every two weeks going forward into June at which point I may give them a rest until the network season starts up in the Fall. I’m not sure I’ll be watching a large enough pool of shows that doing them in the Summer will make sense, but I will wait and see.
  • I know I have been dropping the ball on gaming blogs this month, but I will be fixing that soon. So for those of you that read for that kind of content, I will have some new stuff up this week including the next game in my Best of 7th Gen countdown.
  • The Triple Option is my third blog over the past few years. I was blogging on the gaming site 1up before it shuttered. And many of my WordPress friends and followers started reading my stuff on The Whiteboard. One thing that stinks about this is that a lot of my work is spread across all of those sites. Since this will be my home for the foreseeable future, I am going to start reposting some of my old blogs. This will give some of my new readers here a chance to see more of my work. It will help me fill some slow weeks. But I think most importantly I can start getting more of my work consolidated in one place.
  • What stuff will I be bringing over? Mostly some gaming features from The Whiteboard. A few individual pieces and some ongoing features I dropped along the way (like “Levels I Love”). I know I talked about doing  a piece here on how I’d fix the Tomb Raider reboot, but I ended up shelving it partly because I liked the one I did before on The Whiteboard much better. So I might bring that over. They might be slightly tweaked or I will just mention that I’m republishing them here. For those that have been nice enough to read my writing for many years now, I apologize if you see some repeats!
  • I have been making a point of trying to avoid starting stuff I wouldn’t finish. I know it has been a while, but I do plan doing reviews for Spartacus: Vengeance and Spartacus: War of the Damned. I have just been a little distracted with my Game of Thrones posts.

Anyway, I am about four months in on this site and I really appreciate everyone who has taken the time to read, like or comment any of my posts here. It is still a work in progress, but I am happy with a lot of the stuff I have done and where things are headed and I am hoping to continue to grow and evolve here as the year goes on.

That will do it for now. I may do these every now and then to give people an idea of how things are going and what is coming up. As always, thanks for reading!

By Matthew Thompson Posted in More

Leave a Reply

