Best of 7th Gen: #23-Rock Band 2

by Matthew Thompson

Rock Band 2 isn’t my favorite multiplayer game of the seventh generation, but it is my favorite party experience of that gen. To me a good party game is something that I can easily get a lot of people involved in. Rock Band makes it simple to rotate people in and out. It is something my non-gaming friends can play. It can be fun for those just watching. It’s got that karaoke vibe where you feel a little stupid doing it, but everyone has fun with it anyway. The track list had something for everyone and I know me and my band expanded our library a lot through DLC adding everything from Billy Joel to some metal band I’d never heard that my friend just had to have. And there is just something about forming your own virtual rock band with friends that really makes this a step ahead of the guitar-only games that came before it. Throw in a pretty sweet character creator and you had a real winner with this game.

Rock Band 2

Despite my love of Rock Band 2 (and the series as a whole), it isn’t one I have a ton to say about like most other entries on this list. That doesn’t mean it is any less deserving of finding itself on here though. It’s a unique gaming experience and excels as both a music/rhythm game and party experience.

A few more things:

  • This might as well be for the whole series. I mainly picked 2 since it was the first one we jumped into as a band and 3 had a ton of freezing problems for us for some reason which sullied that experience a bit. I even enjoyed Lego Rock Band though it wasn’t as good as 2 or 3
  • Our band names included: The Pat Mullihan Experience, Goldblamm!!!, and Demon Baby among others. Like all good band names they represent inside jokes for me and my bandmates.
  • I was our band’s go-to drummer. I made a chick with a side ponytail named Fuschia for my character.
  • If a band member didn’t make it for our weekly jam session, there was a good chance they came back to their character looking like a complete ass the following week.
  • Hint for #22: I have already talked about it once on The Triple Option, but I’ll dive in deeper this time around.
  • Bonus! I whipped up a quick mix of some of our band’s favorite tracks to play at the bottom of this blog. I know no one will listen to this, but it gives you an idea of the kind of stuff we would play. I blame all the terrible tracks on my friends’ bad taste.

7 comments on “Best of 7th Gen: #23-Rock Band 2

  1. It seems silly to say this now Rock Band basically got me started with drumming. I started out playing medium, worked my way up to beating every song on expert (except that awful screamo song in 2 that goes BMBMBMBMBMNMNMNMNMNMNMN for 3 minutes straight) and now that I play actual drums I rarely touch Rock Band. But I still want my platinum. My band name was Droopy Tuxedo & The Chill and the best song was every prog rock song. They were just so much fun to play

  2. Sorry about all of those terrible tracks. Fun mix though.

    So many great songs on here, including the DLC like August Burns Red!

    Also Lego Rock Band and the Bone Cave. Great stuff.

  3. I really enjoyed these games, not sure if they’d make my top 25, but they’re still a lot of fun. Though I think 3 would get my number 1 pick for keyboards and song list, has more songs I personally love. I’m also guessing your next one is God of War 3.

    • None of us ever took to the keyboard for some reason, but it was cool. I could really go 2 or 3 though.

      The next one is God of War 3. I almost just put “It’s God of War 3” as the clue… haha. I figure it was pretty obvious to those paying attention.

  4. I loved Rock Band 2. I’d probably play 3 more if I could figure out how to transfer tracks from 1 and 2 to it. So badly do I wish they kept releasing DLC. Over time, I ended up building a nice collection of songs that I actually love and care to play. Here’s some of my favorites to play….

    1. School – Nirvana
    2. Girl, You Have No Faith In Medicine – The White Stripes
    3. Today – The Smashing Pumpkins

    I got up to hard on guitar. I’ve been thinking that I want to try and drum, but I don’t think I’ll be any good at the game.

    My band name was The Snoops.

Leave a Reply

